DHS Squirrel
Geographical Index > United States > Utah > Article # 161

Media Article # 161
Article submitted by Richard Noll

Saturday, March 17, 2001

Wild Animal Ordinance

Chapter 8.36



836.010 Keeping wild animals prohibited—Exceptions.

It is unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, barter, give away, keep, own, harbor or purchase any wild animal, as defined in Title 50 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Utah law or regulation, or Section 8.04.220 of this title, or which is fierce, dangerous, noxious, or naturally inclined to do harm; provided, however, that an animal shelter, zoological park, veterinary hospital, humane society shelter, public laboratory, circus, sideshow, amusement show, or facility for education or scientific purposes may keep such animal if protective devices are adequate to prevent such animal from escaping or injuring the public are provided. (Ord. 1019 11, 1988: Ord. 934 3,1985: prior code 100-1-27)

8.04.200 Stray.
"Stray" means any animal at large, as defined in this chapter. (Prior code 100-1-1(11))

8.04.210 Vicious animal

"Vicious animal" means:

A. Any animal which, in a vicious and terrorizing manner approaches any person in apparent attitude of attack upon the streets, sidewalks, or any public grounds or places;

B. Any animal with a known propensity, tendency or disposition to attach or to cause injury or otherwise endanger the safety of human beings or animals; or

C. Any animal which bites, infects injury, assaults or otherwise attacks a human being or domestic animal on public or private property. (Ord. 1019 3, 1988: prior code 100-1-1(20))

8.04.220 Wild animals.

"Wild animals" means any animals of a species that in their natural life are wild, including hybrids and animals which, as a result of their natural or wild condition, cannot be vaccinated effectively for rabies. These animals, however domesticated, shall include but are not limited to:

A. Alligators and crocodiles;

B. Bears (Ursidae). All bears, including grizzly bears, brown bears, black bears, etc.;

C. Cat Family (Felidae). All except the com-monly accepted domesticated cats, and including cheetah, cougar, leopard, lion, lynx, panther, mountain lion, tiger, wildcat, etc.;

D. Dog Family (Canidae). All except domesticated dogs, and including wolf, part wolf, fox, part fox, coyote, part coyote, dingo, etc.;

E. Porcupine (Erethizontidae);

F. Primate (Hominidae). All subhuman primates;

G. Raccoon (Prosynnidae). All raccoons, including eastern raccoon, desert raccoon, ring-tailed cat, etc.;

H. Skunks;

I. Venomous fish and piranha;

J. Venomous snakes or lizards;

K. Weasels (Mustelidae). All including weasels, martens, wolverines, ferrets, badgers, otters, ermine, mink, mongoose, etc., except that persons raising members of this family as a business for their pelts shall not be prohibited by this section. (Ord. 934 2. 1985: prior code 100-1-1(21))

  Copyright © 2022